The Swell Season was…well, swell

I went to see The Swell Season at First Ave. last night. I saw them for the first time this winter and after being completely hypnotized that night, could not wait for last night’s show. I’ve been a HUGE fan since I saw “Once” in the first week it was released to theaters several years ago. The show this winter, at the State, was amazing, and last night’s had a slightly different vibe because of the smaller venue (and my back and legs screaming after standing for three-plus hours) but it was equally amazing. I know people use that word too much these days, but I can’t think of a better one to describe this band. I had goosebumps the entire show despite the sweltering heat in First Ave. I am not ashamed to admit crying during many songs this winter, and doing so last night as well. This band touches me like few others, and I can’t wait their next album. Marketa played a new song, Crossroads, last night, and it was gorgeous. She also has chopped her long hair into a style pretty similar to mine, and she *rocks* it! You can truly see how beautiful she is with the new ‘do, because it highlights her face.

Anyway, I can’t wait to make some art this weekend while listening to The Swell Season, over and over. I’m inspired!

Leave a Reply

