Day 4 (and final day) of The Creative Connection Event

The Creative Connection Event is now over. It was not a success, for me, anyway. And not for the vast majority of vendors I spoke with. There just weren’t the numbers that we had all planned and prepped for. I think in two years this event will be a must-visit, and even next year it’ll be highish on the list. But this year it was, unfortunately, a bust. I made some awesome connections (hey From Out of the Cracks, Wynzia, Suz and Roo, and J.Jewels Designs!), and I’m putting that in my pocket and going home.

One other big perk to the entire weekend was when *the* planner of The Creative Connection and all-around cool woman, Jo Packham, bought a set of Rockin’ Roll’er Coasters and a Somewhere Else print from me! AND she signed up for my newsletter mailing list. Swoon! It was very exciting.

Here’s Jo and Nancy Soriano speaking to attendies at the cocktail party Friday night, and a shot of our crazy group at said party. We had some good laughs!

jo and nancy

Jo Packham (left) & Nancy Soriano

tcce group

our crazy group on cocktail party night

Following are some photos of my table set-up. The lights in the venue were crappy, so they don’t look all that hot.

coasters

Rock'in Roll'er Coasters

collages

mini collages

illustrations

Mpls & St. Paul icon illustrations

buttons

mini pinback buttons

cards

patterns card packs and gift tags

cards

more of my card designs

onesies

my onesie designs

2 Comments on “Day 4 (and final day) of The Creative Connection Event”

  1. Jo Packham says:

    I am really very sorry that you did not have a good vendor show. Nancy and I spent thousands of dollars in advertising the event to the Minneapolis community but it was our first year and, as all of us with new businesses, we must build them diligently from year to year. And as you stated in your post: the connections that you made may prove to be your most valuable of your entire career. There are so many ways to measure the success of a show.
    We do very much appreciate your support and wish you continued success with all of your creative endeavors.

    My best always
    Jo Packham
    CoFounder
    The Creative Connection

  2. Hi Jo! Thank you for your comment. I do appreciate you planning the TCCE and all of the time and effort you and Nancy put into it. I think it’s going to be a spectacular show in time, and likely just needs a year or two to gather buzz and momentum like the Junk Bonanza has today. It definitely was a fun time and I’m really glad I did it, and I’ll be applying again next year.

    Thank you for your kind words, and for visiting my booth and supporting me during the show. It was a pleasure to meet you and I’ll be watching for the big things you do for the creative community in the months and years to come!

    CJ


Leave a Reply

