I like showin’ off

So as I’ve been writing about recently, I was invited to showcase my work at the RAW: Minneapolis – Illuminaire event last week. It went very well, I made some sales, and I connected with artists I had not met before, and a new audience. I LOVED the mix of fashion, music, and art–three of my favorite things.

Part of being a RAW artist means we get professional photographs of ourselves and our work, and a video about what makes us tick, both of which we can use for ourselves after the event. It’s such a cool perk! Here is a photo taken of me, shot by RAW photographer Drew Carlson.

Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design, at RAW event (photo by Drew Carlson)

Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design, at RAW event (photo by Drew Carlson)

Since the majority of my fine artwork is with One-Offs Yippee!, I was challenged with making a bunch of new pieces for this event. What resulted were some of my favorite work since I started dedicating myself to my art about two years ago. It was thrilling seeing old friends and new acquaintances offer kind remarks for my work, and show general interest. None of them sold, but I got a lot of great feedback, and many took my business card. That’s what it’s all about.

I also got to show off some of my new Minnesota icon illustrations, in the form of postcards, which are new to my arsenal. I sold a few of the postcard sets, and I’m really excited to debut them soon in my Etsy shop and also to local stores that carry my work. Stay tuned for photos of the postcards, but in the meantime, here’s the first look at one of my latest Minnesota icon framed illustrations. What do you think? Can you guess who’s going to appear in my Etsy shop tomorrow?

Paul Bunyan Statue framed illustration by redshoes26 design

Paul Bunyan Statue framed illustration by redshoes26 design

One Comment on “I like showin’ off”

  1. Wendy says:

    Paul Bunyan!! Cute!


Leave a Reply

