Putting on an old hat

While many people know that redshoes26 design specializes in wedding suite design, it’s not often that you link my name to wedding photography. But I have a degree in Mass Communications with an emphasis in Photojournalism, and I shot for a living several years ago. I’ve done a bit of wedding photography, for friends, and while I enjoy it, I don’t often promote it. It’s an old hat of mine, but I haven’t worn it in a couple years. I’ve more recently just shot for my own enjoyment or for use in my artwork.

But still people sometimes inquire. I recently traveled to Alexandria, Minnesota, to photograph my friend Jason’s wedding to his bride, Michelle. While early on I tried to steer Jason and Michelle toward hiring my very-talented photographer friends, including Becca Dilley Photography, Sewell Photography, Studio Laguna Photography, Jeff Loves Jessica, Jesse Valley Photography, and Shelly Mosman Photography, they eventually chose me, and I was honored to capture the beautiful memories created during their wedding day. Here are a few shots that represent the nuptials. Which photo is your favorite?

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

photo by Christy Johnson, redshoes26 design

2 Comments on “Putting on an old hat”

  1. Becca Dilley says:

    Nice work – I didn’t realize you were so versatile!

    • Ha! Yep, I sometimes feel like I do a little of everything. I can even build you a bookcase and change the spark plugs in your car, if you’re in need of those services. ;^)


Leave a Reply

