In My Shoes : “Show Shoes”

When you do as many art shows as I do, you need a comfortable pair of shoes, since they days are long and I tend to stand the entire time. But, as a shoe lover, I can’t just wear any pair of shoes. Especially not—gasp—tennis shoes. Those have their time and place, like the gym, but not at an art show. No sir.

camel sandals

These workhorse sandals helped me stay comfortable in the unbearable heat we dealt with at this year’s Renegade Craft Fair in Brooklyn, NY.

I found these sandals when I went shoe shopping with my mom last spring. She asked me, the shoe expert (ha ha), to help her buy her first pair of knee-high boots. Adorable, right? So of course I agreed, since I never pass up an opportunity to look at shoes, or to help enable another person in his or her budding shoeaholicism.

While searching for the perfect boots for my mom, I happened to stumble upon these camel-colored sandals on the clearance rack. I tried them on, which I’ve mentioned in the past is dangerous for me (once on my feet, it’s very rare that I don’t take a pair of shoes home). So, you guessed it, I made them mine.

It wasn’t love at first sight, or even “love at first try-on” that day, but I decided I did need (ha, “need”) a pair of neutral-colored sandals since I’d thrown out two pairs of brown sandals when I moved the previous winter. But they were cute enough, and comfortable, and the price was right. It turns out, I’m so glad I bought them because they became my “show shoes,” meaning I wore them to almost every art fair I did this summer. Which was a lot.

They also ended up being great walking-around shoes, like when redshoes26 was in Chicago in September, again for an art show. One day, I walked more than 10 miles in these babies, and had no problems. They are very utilitarian, comfy sandals, but still fashionable.

Overall, stumbling upon these turned out to be a happy accident, and they and their gold footbeds have been a nice addition to my shoe collection.

That’s right. Gold.

Leave a Reply

